Kale Chips, homemade chicken nuggets, Veganomicon

Hey! How’s your Monday? It’s been a beautiful day here in Rhode Island. It’s starting to finally feel like summer, and I have no reason to complain about the weather.

I want to start by sharing some foods that I’ve had recently and haven’t got bored or sick of yet.

HOMEMADE CHICKEN NUGGETS

Today, I had an amazing workout at the gym. I ran intervals on the treadmill and was *literally* dripping sweat (sorry if TMI). I also went on the elliptical afterwards, and as I was watching TV (’cause I really can’t look anywhere else lol ) , I saw a commercial for a fast food restaurant’s chicken nuggets and I really started to crave some! So, I decided to  make my own instead of going out and getting some fatty, deep-fried ones.

HOMEMADE CHICKEN NUGGETS

  • 1 boneless chicken breast
  • 1/3 cup of whole wheat bread crumbs (can also use other substitutes such as oat bran, etc)
  • 1/4 cup of egg whites
  • salt, pepper, onion powder, spices to taste
With a knife or kitchen shears, cut the breast into smaller pieces about 1″ –  1 .5″ long x 1.5″ wide (bigger or smaller if you prefer). mix the salt & pepper and other spices with the bread crumbs. Dredge the pieces of chicken by placing in the egg whites and then into the bread crumbs. Place each chicken piece in a frying pan and cook for approximately 3-5 minutes (or until chicken is completely white) on each side on medium high heat.
Voila. My apologies for picture quality. These were taken with my Android. Eaten with some spicy brown mustard. Next time, I think I’m going to try some wasabi sauce!

 

KALE CHIPS!

Saturday after the 5K, I went to the store and picked up some fresh kale. It was on sale for $.79 a lb, and I picked up a bunch and it ended up costing me around $1.78! Not too bad! With the kale, I’ve been baking up some kale chips. If you’re unfamiliar with kale chips, they are a nutritious substitution to potato chips due to the fact that they contain lots of antioxidants and other vitamins and minerals that help prevent cancer. They are extremely easy to make and delicious, and I obtained a great recipe from here . I usually take them out after 12 minutes and they are absolutely perfectly crunchy and not overcooked 🙂

These are the chips before going in the oven. I topped them with some extra virgin olive oil, onion powder, NuSalt, pepper, and some curry powder for more of a smokey flavor.

Here they are baking away in the oven.

Finito. The yellowish stuff on the plate is actually spicy brown mustard from the chicken nuggets I made.

VEGANOMICON

A friend lent me the cook book VEGANOMICON this evening. It contains many gluten-free, low-fat, vegan recipes ranging from salads to soups to desserts. I was looking throw the book and I came across SO MANY that I want to try! I will let you know what I decide to make when I take the time to sit down and pick one. Right now, it is REALLY hard because everything looks delicious!

Here I am with VEGANOMICON!

Well, that’s about it. I am off for the night to relax and possibly watch ARRESTED DEVELOPMENT with my boyfriend. Oh, and of course,  search through the book to find something delicious to make and post about 😉

Have a great night!

DO YOU HAVE A FAVORITE COOK BOOK?

Leave a Reply

