A Chocolate Lover’s Post

Hey! Sorry it’s been a while since my last post. My life has been kind of all-over-the-place and I’ve kind of been back & forth with my diet, to be honest. A lot of it had been eating due to stress and PMSing, but I think I am back on track now after a crazy weekend.

On Saturday, I found some canned pumpkin in my cupboard that I wanted to use up, so I made a pumpkin bread. It came out looking like this:

Looks good, right? It tasted just okay. I think I put too much egg and not enough flour. There’s always room for improvement, right? I’ll be working on it this week, in addition to another recipe I’ll mention later on.

Yesterday, my mom’s family got together and we all went out to brunch. The food was pretty good, and I wanted to make sure I enjoyed myself so I had a little bit of everything, knowing I would get back on track today. They had everything from eggs and Eggs Benedict to chocolate covered strawberries and brownies for dessert. I had the scrambled eggs, steamed broccoli and carrots, and a seafood casserole (which was OUT OF THIS WORLD). I will admit, I had a decaf coffee that I barely drank (after thinking about it, I don’t even know why I ordered it), and I also had a small cranberry muffin, which I seriously have not had in at least a year (sorry, I didn’t take the opportunity to take pictures!).

Ontop of it, we all went back to my mom’s house after and had dessert — cookies, brownies, a yellow cake, and cheesecake! My mom made a sugar-free cake for my grandmother, also, which was delicious! It was basically an angel food cake layered with light cool whip mixed with pineapples (canned) and sugar-free vanilla pudding mix. It’s actually based on a recipe that my great aunt gave my mom for a “world famous” cake that she makes, and my mom substituted it and simplified it. Quite honestly, I can’t really even tell the difference between each recipe all that much (which is a great thing!).

So, after all of the things I ate yesterday, I knew today was going to be a gym day. I just got home a little while ago and had an AMAZING workout. I did the treadmill for 30 min + a 5 min cool down fluctuating my incline from 0.5% to 15% MAX and fluctuating my speed from 3.2 to 4.2 MAX. Trust me, doing a 15% incline at 4.2mph makes you SWEAT. Of course, if you can go faster, by all means do it. I’m JUST starting back up after not really going to the gym consistently, and it feels great. My goal in addition to more gym time is to do some strength training. The equipment at my gym is actually awkward looking, and I haven’t had the chance to ask anyone to “train” me on the machines. If worse comes to worse, I can ask my mom (a personal trainer) what I could do instead.

So, I named this post “chocolate lover’s” because I found a recipe on a blog that I follow (www.onefitfoodie.com) and I wanted to add a few things to make it my own. It’s French Toast made healthy.

Here is the mixture prior to putting it in the blender. This is what I used to dredge the bread (I used one slice of light multi-grain bread, but you can use any kind you like or prefer). It contains:

*1/2 C egg whites
*1/2 tsp vanilla extract
*1/2 scoop of chocolate protein powder
*1 TBSP unsweetened chocolate powder
*1 TBSP cinnamon
*2 packets of Stevia

I put the mixture in my blender and it came out like this:

I then dredged the bread in the mixture and the put it in the frying pan, sprayed with nonstick spray and cooked for about 2 min on each side on medium high heat. I didn’t take a picture, but we all know what French toast looks like, right? It looked like that and tasted chocolately and sweet!

The next question that occured to me was what to do with the remainder of the mixture? Make a chocolate protein crepe, of course!

It came out looking like this. It was as delicious and sweet as it looks, too. Next time, I think I’ll try adding some berries and some cottage cheese for the middle.

For the toast and the egg it came to around 300 cal. Not too shabby, huh?

My mom was nice enough to put together a bag for me yesterday when I left. In the bag (along with some pink lady apples) I found this:

I can’t wait to try it! I am probably going to make some chicken marinated in some Newman’s Garlic salsa this week, so maybe I will make that along with it!

Check out the stats.

Pretty good!

Well friends, I am off to get ready for the rest of the day. I have to do my 60 push ups and I am searching for a rice pudding recipe that I am going to experiment with. So excited!

Also, like I mentioned before, my mom is getting her foot in the door with a new personal training job. If you know anyone who needs a personal trainer and is looking in the Newport area, let me know!

Have a great rest of the day 🙂

2 thoughts on “A Chocolate Lover’s Post

  1. My house has been gluten free now for over two months, so no more yummy beware and pasta here. One thing I use to make for family was from hungry girl. A can of pumpkin mixed with either carrot cake or spice cake box mix (no eggs or oil) put them in the muffin tins (use cupcake paper things) follow baking directions. Sooo yummy!

    • I went flour free for a little while. Lately, it’s been creeping back into my diet, but I am trying to limit it again because it really DOES have an effect on my energy levels.

Leave a Reply

