The Fourth, Smoothies, & Summer Muffins!

Hope everyone had a great Holiday weekend! Mine was probably the most festive I had in years. I went to two Fourth of July celebrations, both of which I made these decadent white chocolate red, white, & blue strawberries! They were a hit!!!!

WEEKEND

The first party I went to was my friend Erin’s. It was on Saturday, and I brought my boyfriend and his friend and it was great! It was a potluck, and everyone brought something festive from a red, white, and blue cake (red velvet cake & vanilla cake with blue frosting). I tried to stay on the healthy end, but that was very tough. I did eat some grilled zucchini, salad, and watermelon. and then I ate some not-so- great- for-your-waistline-foods. Of course, I took responsibility for what I ate (which was quite a bit), and decided that it was a holiday and it would be easier for me to take a day or two to indulge, and then get back on track the next day — at it’s been easy so far!

Sunday was basically a repeat of Saturday (food wise); My uncle provided wraps, chips, dip, watermelon, and burgers. My mom made a variety of pasta salads, brought organic hot dogs, chips, sweet & sour coleslaw (yum!), and also brought the angel food cake that I mentioned in another entry. My aunt made and brought a delicious salad, and made cheesecake. My brothers and sisters made a Chips Ahoy! mud pie, which was to DIE for. It had coffee ice cream, a chocolate chip cookie crust, and then it was sprinkled with chocolate chip cookies on top, Cool Whip, and chocolate sauce. Sound insane? It was. My strawberries were enjoyed by my family, and they also had fresh fruit with some dip, an assortment of cakes brought by my uncle’s daughter-in-law, and so many other things. I had a platter of everything, basically.

 

BACK ON TRACK 

I am happy to say, that my positive thinking has paid off. I tried my best to get back on track, and it’s worked out so far. I am continuing to aim for the no sugar diet, and I’ve been craving some summer foods!

This was my lunch. I made a homemade Cobb salad with chicken, a hard-boiled egg, turkey bacon, and an assortment from veggies given to me by a friend. I topped it with some fat free balsalmic vinaigrette dressing. Satisfying and great!

I also made a delicious smoothie for an afternoon snack.

Berry smoothie

1/2 cup of unsweetened almond milk

1/2 cup of water

1/2 cup of frozen berries, unsweetened

2-3 stevia packets

4-5 ice cubes

Blend & serve.

close-up of the smoothie goodness.

 

Tonight, I was in a bit of a muffin mood. I searched the web for some recipes that included whole wheat pastry flour, but nothing really caught my eye. I did come across a protein muffin recipe for carrot cake protein muffins. I didn’t have any carrots on hand, so I decided to make a summery type of muffin using peaches!

Peach & Ginger Protein Muffins (altered from http://recipes.sparkpeople.com/recipe-detail.asp?recipe=96550)!

      8 egg whites (1 cup)
      1 cup Rolled Oats
      1/2 cup cottage cheese, fat free
        4 scoops Any Whey

protein 

      powder (I used vanilla)
      2 teaspoons baking powder
        1 tablespoon of vanilla extract
            1 TBSP of almond extract
              ½ cup splenda or Stevia
              1/2 TBSP cinnamon
              1/2 TBSP ground ginger
            3/4 cup of frozen peaches, unsweetened/ No Sugar Added
          • 2 tablespoons almonds — or walnuts, optional

          Directions

          Combine Egg Whites and next 7 ingredients (Egg Whites to Cinnamon) in a blender. Blend.  Spoon batter into muffin pans coated with cooking spray, filling ¾ full. add peaches (I put 2-3 peaches per muffin) Bake at 375 degrees for 30 minutes or until golden. Remove from pan immediately.
          Here they are baking away in the oven.
          After. Seriously… how good do these look?
          They came out SO big and golden!
          I ate this one. It was DELICIOUS! It was moist in the middle, cinnamony, and summery!
          This looks like an orange slice… nope, it’s a peach slice! Seriously, go make these! You won’t regret it!
          Well, I am off for the night. Have a good one!

           

           

          Leave a Reply

          